My New Boots

I got a new pair of boots today. It’s my fourth pair of Redbacks,but by far the nicest. I first tried their famous slip-on Station Boot. It was so incredibly durable and comfortable. The soles looked nearly new, after two years of constant wear. You can move your toes around, and stand or walk for hours pain-free. Just don’t try climbing in them when they are wet, when the slip-on convenience gets real inconvenient.

Once in desperation at a trade show when my feet were killing me, I slipped on the boots and my feet quit hurting. So next I bought two pairs of casual dress Redbacks, and was once again delighted. 

My new Redback Rescue boots are simply the best boot I’ve ever worn, and I’m kind of a shoe snob. They are built like a tank with triple stitched full-leather uppers, full leather lined, center zip, and even ANSI steel toes. My initial impression early this morning was, “If the sky falls today I’ll have the right boots on”. By the end of the first day, they felt like old friends on my feet and ready to go anywhere.

Both my father and grandfather were funny about shoes. They both lined up all their favorites along one side of their bed, as do I. Nothing cheap, everything built to be re-soled until you die. I am much the same way. Until recently I wore only Alden and Johnson Murphy dress shoes, and Redwing Boots. But Redwings aren’t what they once were, having given in to the market pressures to import and sell cheap. 

Redbacks are not built to sell cheap. They are manufactured in Australia, of the thickest and most durable leathers I’ve ever seen. The soles and mid-soles are high-tech composites, and they don’t start breaking down before you get them broke in. They are also extremely waterproof; you basically have to fully immerse them to get your feet wet. I admit they spoiled me with comfort. No other shoe or boot even comes close.

will surely be wearing Redbacks as long as they keep making them. Yes there are a few other great boots on the market including Danner and Haix. Yes, there are plenty of cheaper boots available too. But best in class is always worth a little extra money, at least to me.

About Dan White

I'm a retired Paramedic and EMS Instructor with 35 years EMS and emergency medical product experience. I love canoes, cars and EMS. I have written a lot about EMS Technology on the Paramedic Blog, the Insights on Innovation column for EMS1.com, on AmbulanceWorld.com and Multibriefs.com. I can be reached directly at 573-240-0002.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My New Boots

  1. KH says:

    Hi Dan, I’m looking into getting the Redback Rescue boots and came across this post. Now that you’ve had them for quite some time, would you mind giving a quick update? How have they held up? Do you still love them as much as when you first got them? Thanks!

Leave a comment