B2 Paramedic Helmet Review by Tom Little

I was asked to provide a review and evaluation of the B2 EMT-1 helmet.  When the helmet arrived it was packaged in a nicely constructed cardboard box with padding inside to protect helmet during shipment.  It was enclosed in nylon bag for storage.  The helmet required no assembly and was ready for wear.  The clear adjustable visor had a protective cover protecting it from scratches.  The helmet comes with a ½ inch reflective band that encircles the helmet along the bottom edge.

Inside the helmet is a 1 ½ inch band of protective cushion attached to the helmet.  The interior top has a mesh pad with additional cushion in the very top.  To wear this helmet, it fits sung and very comfortable.  The helmet is lightweight and weighs just at 2 pounds.

I have a particular interest in EMS safety and specifically provided all my employees with safety helmets in the 1980’s.  They were to be worn anytime the vehicle was in emergency mode or while attending patients in the back.  Although it wasn’t popular then, after several accidents, staff who should have sustained critical head injuries were able to walk away uninjured.

Now 30 years later the discussion surfaces again.  In the NAEMT Safety Course, class participants are asked to think about the advantages of wearing helmets while in the patient care compartment.  We often think when an aero medical medic is mandated to wear a helmet; we think it is pretty cool.  When fire fighters wear helmets while responding to a scene, we think it makes sense.  So why when we talk about ambulance personnel wearing helmets, it is dumb?  This helmet is stylish and professional looking. Plus it will definitely save your head in case of some type of impact.

I continue to be surprised how many people in EMS ride motorcycles.  The numbers are far more than most would suspect, so I’ve been asked, “if I get one of these helmets, can I also wear it as my motorcycle helmet when I ride back and forth to shift?”  Absolutely!

The helmet is DOT Certified (FMVSS No. 218).  Since I am a motorcycle rider, I took this helmet out for a ride.  Although the clear adjustable visor shield is generally in the up position, I found at highway speeds the visor did not vibrate or fly off!  In fact, if you are one of those people who do not wear glasses, this shield in the down position for night riding provides ample protection from eye injury.  There is almost no distortion in the down position and produces no noticeable headlight glare.  It easily adjusts up or down while riding.

I don’t normally wear a full face helmet so I found this helmet to be comfortable and just the way I like wearing a helmet.  In fact, during a stop for fuel and refreshments, I placed the helmet on the seat and the wind blew it off onto the ground.  There were no noticeable scuff marks that usually accompany this action.  This is a quality helmet and is constructed well.

In summary, I will be taking this helmet with me to my NAEMT Safety Courses I teach and encouraging the participants that helmets have a definite place in EMS with an example to show them.  Good luck and stay safe!

More Information http://headprotech.com/

Thomas Little is an EMS Consultant.  He has been licensed as a EMT-P since 1975, is certified as an Emergency Manager (CEM) in Missouri and an Affiliate Faculty for the NAEMT EMS Safety Course.  He was former owner of Medevac Medical Services, Contractor for MAST in Kansas City and former AMR V.P. http://www.linkedin.com/pub/thomas-little/13/a7b/235

About Dan White

I'm a retired Paramedic and EMS Instructor with 35 years EMS and emergency medical product experience. I love canoes, cars and EMS. I write about EMS Technology on the Paramedic Blog, the Insights on Innovation column for EMS1.com, on AmbulanceWorld.com and Multibriefs.com. I work for Intersurgical, Inc. managing EMS sales and distribution. I can be reached directly at 573-240-0002. Follow me @Paradan on Twitter
This entry was posted in EMS, EMS Equipment, EMS Helmets, EMS Safety, Paramedic Helmet, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to B2 Paramedic Helmet Review by Tom Little

  1. carlrhoma says:

    Excellent review bringing up some very relevant points. I would add that ambulance accidents occur more frequently than air medical accidents. I guess the question is, what are the major injuries suffered in ambulance accidents?

    • phillydan says:

      The most common deaths in an ambulance accident are shockingly, bystanders; those we hit and kill outside the truck. The second most common death is the rear attendant. The number one cause of these deaths are head injuries. Third is the driver, who benefits from all the required safety devices in the front. The rear compartment is exempt from all safety regulation. Under Federal law, it is considered an RV. No, really.
      I have been trying to figure out how patient deaths fit in, but this information has been hard to get.

Leave a Reply

