Sleek and Modern New Ambulance

This completely modern and revolutionary new ambulance design will change the face of EMS in America. It has all the latest safety and performance innovations American ingenuity can muster. It’s sleek, fast, safe and sexy. I think this ambulance could be the transportation technology breakthrough we’ve been waiting for. It’s clearly a whole new way to practice EMS on the street.

My first amazement came when I opened the aerodynamic hood, to see the 500 cubic inch monster gas engine under the bonnet. The air intake was suitably massive to feed the thing plenty of air. Modern electronics were in prominent display everywhere. As I moved to the driver’s seat the interior luxury abounded. I sunk into deeply cushioned seats richly covered in leather, with power adjustments in every seating position. It even had a lavishly detailed and padded armrest to complete the package.

Moving to the rear compartment, the placement of everything just made sense. The attendant’s seat was forward facing and at arm’s reach of the patient. No more dancing like a circus bear while rendering critical care. The Paramedic has every single instrument and control system within easy arms reach. Heaven forbid you get in an accident; the folding safety seat and restraint system will keep you right where you belong. From the way everything is constructed and the 7,000 lb weight, I imagine anything you hit in it will be the looser. I got a brief ride in the back and was even more impressed.

The adjustable air-ride suspension system dampened out the rough spots on the road. The use of sound insulating panels made the interior as silent as a church. It was so quiet and rode so smooth I could hear the heartbeat and watch a crystal-clear ECG tracing on the screen. Even a BP was easier to take because I could actually hear it. This vehicle has the best acoustic insulation and ride dampening system I’ve ever experienced. Even loading it is a breeze with an entry height lower than anything else on the street. The interior conveniences continued to impress.

Air conditioner and heater vents abounded, I counted at least 6 to keep my patient and me comfortable. Copious windows completely surround the patient compartment. Combined with the powerful ceiling lights they made for much better visibility. All my critical equipment is securely wall or bulkhead mounted, yet immediately available. Privacy drapes insure modesty during examinations and the second head-end seat makes for convenient access to the airway. Then they let me drive it and I fell in love.

The astonishingly low center of gravity combined with the ultra-light composite top made for sports car-like handling. Lane changes and evasive maneuvers were easy. The handling is solid and predictable, without compromise to the dreamy ride in the back. I can see how a good wheel man could get me to the ER without me ever feeling a thing in the back.

There’s just one huge problem with this ambulance. It’s a 1978 Superior Cadillac and you can’t buy it anymore.

About Dan White

I'm a retired Paramedic and EMS Instructor with 35 years EMS and emergency medical product experience. I love canoes, cars and EMS. I write about EMS Technology on the Paramedic Blog, the Insights on Innovation column for EMS1.com, on AmbulanceWorld.com and Multibriefs.com. I work for Intersurgical, Inc. managing EMS sales and distribution. I can be reached directly at 573-240-0002. Follow me @Paradan on Twitter
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

